A growing church in Crestview, Florida.

Deacon Nomination

The Emmanuel Baptist Church Deacon Ministry Team is a group of servant leaders, modeled after the ones first mentioned in Acts 6 as men nominated from the church body to support the ministerial leaders in their appointed duties so that the ministerial leaders can focus on the ministry of the Word. The biblical qualifications for these men are identified in Acts 6:1-7 and 1 Timothy 3:8-13. Additionally, EBC has required that deacons be at least 25 years old and have been a member of EBC for at least one year.

The Deacon Ministry Team provides additional resources to meet pastoral care as well as other practical needs as directed by the pastor. The Deacons, keeping hold of the deep truths of the faith, also serve as a sounding board for the pastor, either directly or as members of the Servant Lead Team or other ministry teams, as he carries out his leadership responsibilities.

The Bible and EBC Constitution and Bylaws call for the church body to nominate men to be considered for the Deacon Ministry Team. This first calls for prayer about the overall process, then discerning God’s call on a specific man into the Deacon ministry through prayer and the application of the biblical and EBC qualifications. Nominations are to be made by individual church members.

After having determined to the best of your ability the mind of Christ through prayer, use this ballot to nominate a single individual to be considered for the EBC Deacon Ministry Team. Nominations must be signed and have contact information to be considered.

The EBC Deacon Ministry Team will: consider all nominations, determine biblical and EBC qualification through their own process including discussion with the individual and prayer, then provide a list of qualified candidates for church vote. This three-part process will ensure that an individual will first be tested; and if nothing is against them, let them serve as deacons.


The nomination process will be open until 1:00pm on Sunday, October 29, 2017. Ballots are available in the church office or at the Welcome Desk and  may be placed in the Drop Box in The Café. If you have any questions, please contact Joe Gordon :: 850-585-3325 or Bruce Baber :: 850-582-6116. You may also email questions@ebccrestview.com. If you are submitting through email, be sure to include your name and phone number.


The following names have served or are currently serving as deacons and, therefore, there is no need to renominate them:

Active Deacons: Bruce Baber, Pat Castille, Dave Cramblet, Jerry Diven, David Gaillard, Joe Gordon, Allan Hutto, Keith Rowell, Clif Shutt, John Walker

Inactive Deacons: Trey Barefield, Shawn Bridges, Don Dew, Kelly Finley, Jr. Grant, Ryan Mynard